Skip to content

Qed for Nationals

May 3, 2009

A couple of month ago I thought I would be able to sit on my rating this year and qualify for Nationals that way. They have however changed the qualifying settings this year and less people are qualified for Nationals in Sweden this year by rating. I think that is a good things, since that means the less old foxes how turn up every year for Nationals because they happened to be qualified by rating (again) and leaves more slots for fresh active players playing in the qualifiers.

I crashed and burned in at my first attempt to qualify in Stockholm 19/4 with Vengeant Kithkin. In my first 4 rounds I met 5cc 3 times. So I dropped with a disappointing 1-2-1 record, but I still felt confident in my deck choice and just felt that I got a couple of rough matchups. So for the qualifier in Uppsala yesterday I showed up and registered the following 75:

// Lands
    8 Plains
    4 Battlefield Forge
    4 Rugged Prairie
    2 Rustic Clachan
    4 Windbrisk Heights
    2  Mutavault

// Creatures
    4 Goldmeadow Stalwart
    4 Wizened Cenn
    4 Ajani Vengeant
    4 Figure of Destiny
    4 Knight of Meadowgrain
    4 Cloudgoat Ranger
    1 Ranger of Eos

// Spells
    4 Spectral Procession
    4 Path to Exile
    3 Glorious Anthem

// Sideboard
SB: 4 Burrenton Forge-Tender
SB: 4 Wispmare
SB: 3 Reveillark
SB: 4 Ignite Disorder

I feel that you can get around with 24 lands, so I cut a plains and added a miser Ranger of Eos (i.e. Cloudgoat #5). I also want to point out that Glorious Anthem is sick. I only played 2 copies in Stockholm, but I went to 3 for this one. It such a blow out when your playing in a creature mirror and one guy has a anthem and the other guy does not. Also Ignite Disorder is amazing from the sideboard. It so good versus other Spectral Procession decks or Reveillark decks with sowers and stillmoons. Thumbs up for Ignite Disorder.

The tournament had 32 players which meant that top8 qualified. The tournament had 6 rounds of swiss with no Top8 playoff. The swiss went as following:

Won Vs. BW Tokens 2-1

Won Vs. Wg Kithkins 2-1

Won Vs. Blightning 2-0

Draw Vs. Dark Bant 1-1

Won Vs. Blightning 2-1

ID Vs. 5cc

So I ended the swiss with 4-0-2 record and ended up in second place, and therefore I’m Qed for Nationals later this year. Sweet! For those that have qualifiers left or is looking for a deck for Regionals, I can highly recommend this deck. It’s very proactive, plays powerful cards and has a lot of game it the current metagame. That said, Alara Reborn just went legal in Standard and that set is sured to give the Standard metagame a new twist or two. So I can’t really say that I can recommend the deck for the upcoming PTQ season, yet. Maybe it is, but it is to early to say that at this point.

Good luck in the qualifiers and I see you soon. Until next time…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 08:59

    Hi, interesting post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for writing. I’ll definitely be subscribing to your posts.

  2. David permalink
    May 4, 2009 11:54

    I’m pretty sure that the Ranger of Eos wants to be a miser’s Mirrorweave instead. It’s such a blowout when no one expects it and it adds a “oops, I win”-factor to the deck. I also believe that you really want 25 lands and I would cut a Goldmeadow Stalwart (4 Heights, 4 Figure, 3 Stalwart = 11 one drops).

    Congrats on qualifying. I’ll see you in Linköping for the first PTQ.

  3. tom permalink
    May 9, 2009 11:44

    How do you sideboard with this deck? What goes in what goes out? In ex. mirror match, 5cc or blightning?

    • balthazar88 permalink*
      May 9, 2009 18:26

      I sideboarded as following:

      Against other Spectral Procession decks in general:
      -4x Ajani Vengeant
      +4x Ignite Disorder

      Vs. BW I also make this change:
      -4x Goldmeadow Stalwart
      +4x Wispmare

      Vs. Boat Brew I normaly does this along Ignite Disorder for Ajani:
      +3x Reveillark
      -3x random Kithkins

      Against 5cc:
      -2x Cloudgoat Ranger
      -1x Glorious Anthem
      +3x Reveillark

      Depending on the version they are playing, I might also bring in Burrenton Forge-Tender for Stalwarts.

      Against Blightning:
      -4x Stalwart
      +4x Burrenton Forge-Tender

      If I see Infest in game 2, I also make the same sideboarding as with 5cc, bringing in Reveillark for the same cards.

      Against Faeries:
      -4x Ajani Vengeant
      +4x Wispmare

      I think the “whys” is pretty clear for this sideboarding strategy, but feel free to ask if you think something is odd.

Leave a Reply

