Skip to content

Lincon is in the books!

May 28, 2009

Last weekend hosted a big Magic convention in Linköping, Sweden, and I was there slinging some cards. A full report can be found here, but unfortunately for you non-Swedish readers out there its in (gasp) Swedish. However I will give you who don’t comprehend Swedish a little summary on what happened last weekend.

First off, on Thursday (the 21th) there was a PTQ for Austin. I once again choose to game with Kithkin. I took the following list to Top8:

Main:
10 Plains
4 Rugged Prairie
4 Battlefield Forge
4 Windbrisk Heights
2 Mutavault
4 Figure of Destiny
4 Goldmeadow Stalwart
4 Wizened Cenn
4 Knight of Meadowgrain
4 Cloudgoat Ranger
1 Ranger of Eos
4 Path to Exile
4 Ajani Vengeant
3 Glorious Anthem
4 Spectral Procession

Sideboard:
4 Wispmare
4 Ignite Disorder
3 Burrenton Forge-Tender
3 Reveillark
1 Ranger of Eos

I’m not going to talk so much of the list itself, it isn’t revolutionary in any means. Many might wonder why I went with RW instead of the recently popularly BW version. The reason is this: The BW version is better than the RW version…when you play a lot of mirrors (or quasi-mirrors). However my read was that the meta is shifting slowly away from being dominated by Spectral Procession (even if it is still relevant) and the red splash is just better vs. anything else. Now I managed to dodge mirrors all day long, so the little gamble paid off. I 5-0-2 the swiss and lost in the first round of the top8 against a Doran deck.

On the following day I played in a GPT for Brighton. I had a very mediocre sealed deck which I managed to go with 5-1 and then I drafted a decent Jund deck in the Top8 and managed to take myself to the finals, but lost there. Still, that got me 3 byes so I’m excited about going to Brighton later this summer.

That pretty much sums up the relevant part of the weekend, hope you liked it. Until next time…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

