Skip to content

Drafting with me #1 – ACR

June 23, 2009

Today I’m going to walk you through a draft I did yesterday. This is from a swiss que on MODO (I know that the opponents are a little bit less skillful there compared with the 8-4 ques, but I wanted to really try out the limited portion for Nationals and you know, there where 7 people in the swiss que with none in the others). I’m sorry I don’t have pictures for the cards, since the otherwise brilliant image converter doesn’t seems to get along with wordpress…

Pack 1 pick 1:
Soul’s Grace, Skeletal Kathari, Goblin Deathraiders, Mosstodon, Outrider of Jhess (FOIL), Hindering Light, Vithian Stinger, Wild Nacatl, Executioner’s Capsule, Outrider of Jhess, Filigree Sages, Naya Charm, Necrogenesis, Sigil of Distinction, Forest

My pick:
Sigil of Distinction

Okay, a pretty easy start on the draft here. Sigil of Distinction is going to be from good to amazing in any deck we will end up playing and it’s not color committing. Clearly Sigil of Distinction is the pick here.

Pack 1 pick 2:
Resounding Roar, Etherium Sculptor, Akrasan Squire, Relic of Progenitus, Resounding Wave, Soul’s Might, Knight of the Skyward Eye, Resounding Scream, Naya Panorama, Skeletonize, Jund Charm, Protomatter Powder, Where Ancients Tread, Island

My pick:
Akrasan Squire

This ended up being the defining pick for this draft on my part. First off there is the decision if we want to pick up a little more controlling card (Skeletonize or Jund Charm) or if we want to pick a more aggressive cards (Akrasan Squire or Knight of the Skyward Eye). Since Sigil of Distinction is a better card in a aggressive deck I was looking at either of the white cards. I like Knight of the Skyward Eye a little more than Akrasan Squire in a green-white deck but we don’t know if we are going to be green-white at this point. Picking Akrasan Squire means that we could be white-blue (where the Sigil is even better). Even if we end up green-white Akrasan Squire is still going to be a good card.

Pack 1 pick 3:
Elvish Visionary, Sighted-Caste Sorcerer, Bloodpyre Elemental, Agony Warp, Cloudheath Drake, Obelisk of Naya, Esper Panorama, Hindering Light, Wild Nacatl, Crumbling Necropolis, Fire-Field Ogre, Thoughtcutter Agent, Plains

My pick:
Wild Nacatl

We will continue on the aggressive rout here, passing Bloodpyre Elemental and Agony Warp. I could pick Sighted-Caste Sorcerer here to keep my options open, but Wild Nacatl is a much better card than the sorcerer. We are going into green here.

Pack 1 pick 4:
Akrasan Squire, Bone Splinters, Jungle Weaver, Thorn-Thrash Viashino, Etherium Sculptor, Marble Chalice, Goblin Deathraiders, Coma Veil, Shadowfeed, Qasali Ambusher, Exuberant Firestoker, Island

My pick:
Akrasan Squire

Qasali Ambusher is a good card but is not so impressive in a aggressive deck. Picking up another Akrasan Squire seems great however.

Pack 1 pick 5:
Court Archers, Jhessian Lookout, Cathartic Adept, Lightning Talons, Angelsong, Undead Leotau, Bant Panorama, Crumbling Necropolis, Corpse Connoisseur, Jhessian Infiltrator, Island

My pick:
Court Archers

Unless we are considering switching color (and strategy for that matter) this is an easy pick. Court Archers is a fine card, it’s a dude, it’s got exalted.

Pack 1 pick 6:
Druid of the Anima, Courier’s Capsule, Yoked Plowbeast, Banewasp Affliction, Deft Duelist, Waveskimmer Aven, Dragon Fodder, Skeletal Kathari, Dragon’s Herald, Plains

My pick:
Waveskimmer Aven

Druid of the Anima is a good card, it’s in our colors, but it doesn’t really fit our strategy well. On turn 2 we probably want to play a blade or something like that. Yoked Plowbeast is also a fine card, but doesn’t really suit our game plan. I was looking at Deft Duelist for a second, but it doesn’t seem likely that we are going to play that on turn 2 often. Waveskimmer Aven seems better if we want to touch into blue, it got exalted and it flies.

Pack 1 pick 7:
Resounding Scream, Cancel, Bloodthorn Taunter, Naturalize, Soul’s Grace, Waveskimmer Aven, Sangrite Surge, Cradle of Vitality, Mountain

My pick:
Waveskimmer Aven

You might be able to make a case for picking Naturalize, but it’s situational and Waveskimmer Aven is always going to be good.

Pack 1 pick 8:
Rip-Clan Crasher, Elvish Visionary, Soul’s Grace, Outrider of Jhess, Grixis Panorama, Swerve, Skill Borrower, Plains

My pick:
Elvish Visionary

Picking the in-color playable.

Pack 1 pick 9:
Soul’s Grace, Skeletal Kathari, Goblin Deathraiders, Mosstodon, Hindering Light, Outrider of Jhess, Forest

My pick:
Mosstodon

Very nice, we manage to wheel a Mosstodon.

Pack 1 pick 10:
Relic of Progenitus, Soul’s Might, Resounding Scream, Protomatter Powder, Where Ancients Tread, Island

My pick:
Relic of Progenitus

I’m a bit surprised that Where Ancients Tread is still in this pack, but we can’t really capitalize on that.  Relic of Progentius is not we are hoping to be forced to play in our maindeck, but it’s a good sideboard card. If I didn’t picked up those Waveskimmers earlier I would probably have taken the powerful enchantment.

Pack 1 pick 11:
Cloudheath Drake, Obelisk of Naya, Hindering Light, Thoughtcutter Agent, Plains

My pick:
Cloudheath Drake

We certainly not playing the obelisk, we might play Cloudheath Drake, might not.

Pack 1 pick 12:
Thorn-Thrash Viashino, Coma Veil, Shadowfeed, Island

My pick:
Coma Veil

Pack 1 pick 13:
Cathartic Adept, Angelsong, Island

My pick:
Angelsong

Pack 1 pick 14:
Dragon’s Herald, Plains

My pick:
Plains

Pack 1 pick 15:
Mountain

My pick:
Mountain

Pack 2 pick 1:
Toxic Iguanar, Faerie Mechanist, Bone Saw, Kederekt Parasite (FOIL), Sedraxis Alchemist, Tukatongue Thallid, Lapse of Certainty, Rupture Spire, Suicidal Charge, Constricting Tendrils, Ignite Disorder, Voices from the Void, Unstable Frontier, Extractor Demon, Island

My pick:
Rupture Spire

*Faceplam*

What a disappointing pack for us. Rupture Spire is mana fixing so I guess we are picking that, *shrugs*.

Pack 2 pick 2:
Fleshformer (FOIL), Faerie Mechanist, Bone Saw, Gleam of Resistance, Sedraxis Alchemist, Tukatongue Thallid, Lapse of Certainty, Suicidal Charge, Constricting Tendrils, Celestial Purge, View from Above, Dreadwing, Paleoloth, Swamp

My pick:
Gleam of Resistance

I took a long time on this one, I really wanted to pick the Celestial Purge since we are a little short on removal at this point (or trix in general), but Gleam of Resistance is going to be really good in our deck. It’s mana fixing and it’s a nice trix and Celestial Purge is kind situational. Also, we are more likely to wheel the Celestial Purge than the gleam.

Pack 2 pick 3:
Sylvan Bounty, Canyon Minotaur, Traumatic Visions, Rhox Meditant, Zombie Outlander, Wandering Goblins, Might of Alara, Valiant Guard, Salvage Slasher, Controlled Instincts, Countersquall, Paleoloth, Mountain

My pick:
Might of Alara

Landcycling is not what we ant to do on turn 2 unless we have too, so that rules Sylvan Bounty out. Rhox Meditant is a nice card, but compared with Might of Alara for the deck we are currently drafting it falls in comparison. Also note that 2 Paleoloths has passed here. I would been pretty interesting if we would have picked up that late Where Ancients Thread… 

Pack 2 pick 4:
Kranioceros, Absorb Vis, Valeron Outlander, Vectis Agents, Molten Frame, Rhox Bodyguard, Scattershot Archer, Infectious Horror, Ancient Ziggurat, Nacatl Hunt-Pride, Scepter of Insight, Island

My pick:
Nacatl Hunt-Pride

This was a though pick for me. Valeron Outlander is very good for our deck, it’s a 2-drops, it dodges a lot of removal and it’s multi-color so it fires up the blades that we are bound to pick up in the last pack. Nacatl Hunt-Pride is a real fine man and that card would add to our trix account, which is a bit shallow at this point. Seems like a good finisher for us.

Pack 2 pick 5:
Beacon Behemoth, Zombie Outlander, Darklit Gargoyle, Exploding Borders, Tukatongue Thallid (FOIL), Nacatl Outlander, Nacatl Savage, Valiant Guard, Reliquary Tower, Jhessian Balmgiver, Forest

My pick:
Nacatl Savage

Not that much to talk about. We continue to see that the “power 5” deck is/was viable to us, but we are sticking with our game plan here, taking the two drop.

Pack 2 pick 6:
Wild Leotau, Frontline Sage, Pestilent Kathari, Suicidal Charge, Maniacal Rage, Rotting Rats, Goblin Outlander, Controlled Instincts, Corrupted Roots, Mountain

My pick:
Wild Leotau

Slammed.

Pack 2 pick 7:
Wretched Banquet, Parasitic Strix, Kaleidostone, Grixis Illusionist, Yoke of the Damned, Vectis Agents, Quenchable Fire, Shard Convergence, Island

My pick:
Parasitic Strix

We take the strix since it’s the only thing in the pack that I would considering playing.

Pack 2 pick 8:
Frontline Sage, Wretched Banquet, Court Homunculus, Molten Frame, Rhox Bodyguard, Vagrant Plowbeasts, Scornful Æther-Lich, Mountain

My pick:
Vagrant Plowbeasts

Vagrant Plowbeasts doesn’t really fit into our desired game plan, but neither is Rhox Bodyguard. Vagrant Plowbeast is a better card than Rhox Bodyguard so we are picking that.

Pack 2 pick 9:
Faerie Mechanist, Bone Saw, Suicidal Charge, Constricting Tendrils, Voices from the Void, Unstable Frontier, Island

My pick:
Faerie Mechanist

Just stabbing here, I rather face Voices from the Void than Faerie Mechanist with my deck.

Pack 2 pick 10:
Bone Saw, Lapse of Certainty, Constricting Tendrils, View from Above, Dreadwing, Swamp

My pick:
Lapse of Certainty

Taking the thing we might play.

Pack 2 pick 11:
Traumatic Visions, Valiant Guard, Salvage Slasher, Controlled Instincts, Mountain

My pick:
Traumatic Visions

Pack 2 pick 12:
Vectis Agents, Rhox Bodyguard, Infectious Horror, Island

My pick:
Rhox Bodyguard

Pack 2 pick 13:
Valiant Guard, Reliquary Tower, Forest

My pick:
Valiant Guard

Pack 2 pick 14:
Suicidal Charge, Corrupted Roots

My pick:
Suicidal Charge

Pack 2 pick 15:
Vectis Agents

My pick:
Vectis Agents

Pack 3 pick 1:
Stormcaller’s Boon, Rhox Brute, Wildfield Borderpost, Sewn-Eye Drake, Mistvein Borderpost, Arsenal Thresher, Demonic Dread, Offering to Asha, Firewild Borderpost, Naya Hushblade, Bituminous Blast, Vengeful Rebirth, Mage Slayer, Sen Triplets, Swamp

My pick:
Naya Hushblade

Also a very disappointing pack for us. I was really tempted on picking up the Vengeful Rebirth, but I ended up staying on the plan and picking up a blade. Our deck doesn’t look to0 exciting at this point and the games/matches we are going to win is more likely to happen with quick beats than trying to salvage and splashing some powerful cards at this point.

Pack 3 pick 2:
Glassdust Hulk, Bant Sureblade, Terminate, Leonin Armorguard, Cerodon Yearling, Jhessian Zombies, Sigil of the Nayan Gods, Kathari Bomber, Vectis Dominator, Brainbite, Demonspine Whip, Unbender Tine, Blitz Hellion, Forest

My pick:
Bant Sureblade

Besides Terminate, Bant Sureblade is the best card in the pack. Since we don’t play red or black, we pick Bant Sureblade. Easy, huh?

Pack 3 pick 3:
Nulltread Gargantuan, Sovereigns of Lost Alara, Island, Demonic Dread, Magefire Wings, Sigil of the Nayan Gods, Arsenal Thresher, Anathemancer, Cerodon Yearling, Deny Reality, Glassdust Hulk, Jund Hackblade, Winged Coatl

My pick:
Sovereigns of Lost Alara

I’m not a fan of Nulltread Gargantuan and our deck seems to be a green-white deck splashing blue for some fliers. Sovereigns is big, it’s got exalted and I’m certain that we will be able to wheel at least one of the Sigil of the Nayan Gods we have seen.

Pack 3 pick 4:
Ethersworn Shieldmage, Naya Sojourners, Gorger Wurm, Singe-Mind Ogre, Pale Recluse, Brainbite, Grixis Sojourners, Valley Rannet, Sanctum Plowbeast, Marrow Chomper, Tainted Sigil, Mountain

My pick:
Naya Sojourners

Could have picked Pale Recluse here. But we don’t really need the mana fixing and a random 4/5 for 6 is not going to win us any games, at least with our deck. Naya Sojourners is the pick since it’s a trick and we might be able to play him of our Rupture Spire.

Pack 3 pick 5:
Leonin Armorguard, Architects of Will, Mistvein Borderpost, Monstrous Carabid, Offering to Asha (FOIL), Godtracker of Jund, Breath of Malfegor, Jund Sojourners, Lorescale Coatl, Nulltread Gargantuan, Swamp

My pick:
Leonin Armorguard

Lorescale Coatl is nice, but I’m not picking him for the same reason I didn’t pick Nulltread Gargantuan two picks ago. Leonin Armorguard is however exactly what we need (besides removal obv.)

Pack 3 pick 6:
Anathemancer, Island, Captured Sunlight, Magefire Wings, Kathari Bomber, Deny Reality, Rhox Brute, Fieldmist Borderpost, Sewn-Eye Drake, Putrid Leech

My pick:
Fieldmist Borderpost

Almost nothing here. Picking up mana fixing.

Pack 3 pick 7:
Leonin Armorguard, Cerodon Yearling, Sigil of the Nayan Gods, Vectis Dominator, Brainbite, Lorescale Coatl, Tainted Sigil, Anathemancer, Island

My pick:
Leonin Armorguard

We are counting on a wheel on Sigil of the Nayan Gods so I don’t what to pick that here. Second Leonin Armorguard is fitting however.

Pack 3 pick 8:
Naya Sojourners, Gorger Wurm, Singe-Mind Ogre, Brainbite, Grixis Sojourners, Sanctum Plowbeast, Flurry of Wings, Plains

My pick:
Naya Sojourners

Picking up more trix. That’s is a pretty late Gorger Wurm, starting to really regret not picking up that Where Ancient Thread now…

Pack 3 pick 9:
Stormcaller’s Boon, Rhox Brute, Wildfield Borderpost, Demonic Dread, Offering to Asha, Mage Slayer, Swamp

My pick:
Wildfield Borderpost

This was an outright mistake on my part. I took the borderpost but I’m certain I was wrong here. If I could go back I would have picked up Stormcaller’s Boon. It’s not that exciting when you have Sigil of Distinction in your deck, but normally it will hit a guy and this deck can really feast on giving your whole team flying for a turn. And after all, I didn’t really need that mana fixing either.

Pack 3 pick 10:
Jhessian Zombies, Sigil of the Nayan Gods, Brainbite, Demonspine Whip, Unbender Tine, Forest

My pick:
Sigil of the Nayan Gods

There it is!

Pack 3 pick 11:
Nulltread Gargantuan, Island, Magefire Wings, Anathemancer, Winged Coatl

My pick:
Nulltread Gargantuan

Pack 3 pick 12:
Brainbite, Marrow Chomper, Tainted Sigil, Mountain

My pick:
Marrow Chomper

Pack 3 pick 13:
Godtracker of Jund, Nulltread Gargantuan, Swamp

My pick:
Nulltread Gargantuan

Pack 3 pick 14:
Island, Magefire Wings

My pick:
Magefire Wings

Pack 3 pick 15:
Island

My pick:
Island

The Deck:
6 Forest
5 Plains
3 Island
1 Rupture Spire
1 Fieldmist Borderpost
1 Wildfield Borderpost
1 Sigil of Distinction
2 Akrasan Squire
1 Wild Nacatl
1 Court Archers
2 Waveskimmer Aven
1 Elvish Visionary
1 Mosstodon
1 Gleam of Resistance
1 Might of Alara
1 Nacatl Hunt-Pride
1 Nacatl Savage
1 Wild Leotau
1 Parasitic Strix
1 Lapse of Certainty
1 Naya Hushblade
1 Bant Sureblade
1 Sovereigns of Lost Alara
1 Naya Sojourners
2 Leonin Armorguard
1 Sigil of the Nayan Gods

I ended up going 1-2, losing my matches with my opponents on 2 or 3 life each game. I really kicked myself for not picking up that Stormcaller’s Boon, since if I had it in the games I lost, I would have won. I did certainly not belive that this was a 3-0 deck, but I thought I had a shot at going 2-1. However, this draft was a very good example of sticking to a plan that just didn’t work out, which happens. Looking back we would probably would have a better deck if we would have picked Skeletonize in pack 2 to go either red-black or fatty Naya later on, but it is easy to be wise with all the facts in hand. In a vakuum I still belive I made the correct pick in that pack 2 at that point. I feelt that Conflux and Alara Reborn just had very weak packs for our plan in general, so so.

If you have any comments on the draft, please share! Until next time…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

