Skip to content

Drafting with me #2 – ACR

July 10, 2009

I’m back with another ACR draft that I’m going to walk you throu’. This is from the 4-3-2-2 que on MODO, enjoy!

Pack 1 pick 1:
Call to Heel, Excommunicate, Viscera Dragger, Druid of the Anima, Onyx Goblet, Obelisk of Esper, Godtoucher, Gustrider Exuberant, Resounding Wave, Magma Spray, Fire-Field Ogre, Bull Cerodon, Angelic Benediction, Immortal Coil, Plains

My pick:
Bull Cerodon

For me this pack had 2 choices, Magma Spray or Bull Cerodon. Before Alara Reborn I would have taken Bull Cerodon without hesitation, but the limited format is much faster now. In the end, Bull Cerodon has much higher potential for a first pick so I took the flightless dragon.

Pack 1 pick 2:
Welkin Guide, Bone Splinters, Savage Hunger, Cavern Thoctar, Cancel, Obelisk of Jund, Volcanic Submersion, Rakeclaw Gargantuan, Onyx Goblet, Sigiled Paladin, Swerve, Protomatter Powder, Tar Fiend, Plains

My pick:
Sigiled Paladin

I was really depressed when I saw this pack. Welkin Guide and Rakeclaw Gargantuan are fine card to go along with the Bull Cerodon, but they are really nothing you want to second pick. Sigiled Paladin is nice, but it’s also a trap. It’s is an awesome 2-drops… excepts that it will never come down on turn 2 except if you manage to get a 2-color deck. Bone Splinters is probably the best card in the pack but I went for the pseudo 2-drop. It will still be fine if I end up with green-white deck touching red.

Pack 1 pick 3:
Goblin Deathraiders (FOIL), Undead Leotau, Obelisk of Grixis, Blister Beetle, Cavern Thoctar, Rip-Clan Crasher, Lush Growth, Bloodpyre Elemental, Guardians of Akrasa, Sprouting Thrinax, Demon’s Herald, Sangrite Surge, Island

My pick:
Bloodpyre Elemental

Sprouting Thrinax or Bloodpyre Elemental was the choice here. Sprouting Thrinax is a  better card in a vacuum but Bloodpyre Elemental is nice and it’s in color, so I went with that.

Pack 1 pick 4:
Jungle Weaver, Thorn-Thrash Viashino, Etherium Sculptor, Marble Chalice, Obelisk of Jund, Cathartic Adept, Lightning Talons, Onyx Goblet, Obelisk of Esper, Filigree Sages, Where Ancients Tread, Mountain

My pick:
Where Ancients Tread

Okay, lets see… We got Where Ancients Tread…then there’s a Jungle Weaver and then there is nothing. Where Ancients Tread is a pretty bonkers in the right deck and since we already got a Bull Cerodon this is a easy pick.

Pack 1 pick 5:
Soul’s Grace, Mosstodon, Carrion Thrash, Vithian Stinger, Gift of the Gargantuan, Outrider of Jhess, Obelisk of Naya, Scavenger Drake, Dragon’s Herald, Sacellum Godspeaker, Island

My pick:
Vithian Stinger

I’m surprised that there is a Vithian Stinger left in this pack, but I take it. The other card I could take here is Mosstodon, but the stinger is a much better card. Also we are not in desperate need of fattys for our Where Ancient Tread yet, so stinger it is.

Pack 1 pick 6:
Elvish Visionary, Soul’s Grace, Steward of Valeron, Esper Panorama, Hindering Light, Wild Nacatl, Grixis Panorama, Glaze Fiend, Realm Razer, Swamp

My pick:
Realm Razer

Realm Razer is also a card that has gotten worse with he inclusion of Alara Reborn. Still, Realm Razer is a very powerful card and I will very likely be able to set up game ending situation with Realm Razer. I was eyeing Wild Nacatl for a second but come on, REALM RAZER!

Pack 1 pick 7:
Etherium Sculptor, Dreg Reaver, Sigil Blessing, Ridge Rannet, Coma Veil, Shadowfeed, Scourge Devil, Thoughtcutter Agent, Forest

My pick:
Ridge Rannet

In-color playable fatty. Nice.

Pack 1 pick 8:
Naturalize, Obelisk of Grixis, Resounding Scream, Bloodthorn Taunter, Lightning Talons (FOIL), Goblin Mountaineer, Exuberant Firestoker, Island

My pick:
Exuberant Firestoker

Exuberant Firestoker is a card that I don’t play all the often anymore, but I’m happy to play that card with my fatty-theme.

Pack 1 pick 9:
Onyx Goblet, Obelisk of Esper, Godtoucher, Gustrider Exuberant, Resounding Wave, Immortal Coil, Plains

My pick:
Gustrider Exuberant

Pack 1 pick 10:
Savage Hunger, Cancel, Volcanic Submersion, Swerve, Protomatter Powder, Plains

My pick:
Volcanic Submersion

Pack 1 pick 11:
Obelisk of Grixis, Lush Growth, Demon’s Herald, Sangrite Surge, Island

My pick:
Sangrite Surge

Pack 1 pick 12:
Marble Chalice, Cathartic Adept, Onyx Goblet, Mountain

My pick:
Marble Chalice

Pack 1 pick 13:
Soul’s Grace, Dragon’s Herald, Island

My pick:
Dragon’s Herald

Pack 1 pick 14:
Soul’s Grace, Swamp

My pick:
Soul’s Grace

Pack 1 pick 15:
Forest

My pick:
Forest

Pack 2 pick 1:
Zombie Outlander, Goblin Outlander (FOIL), Sedraxis Alchemist, Beacon Behemoth, Darklit Gargoyle, Nacatl Savage, Wandering Goblins, Brackwater Elemental, Suicidal Charge, Maniacal Rage, Manaforce Mace, Countersquall, Elder Mastery, Malfegor, Plains

My pick:
Beacon Behemoth

Dang, there is a Malfegor. This draft could been very different if I had taken the Magma Spray out of the first pack, I would probably been in Jund by now and would windmill slammed Malfegor. Instead I have to settle with a Beacon Behemoth. At least it’s a 5-power fatty…

Pack 2 pick 2:
Zombie Outlander, Kaleidostone, Sedraxis Alchemist, Darklit Gargoyle, Nacatl Savage, Wandering Goblins, Brackwater Elemental, Suicidal Charge, Maniacal Rage, Paragon of the Amesha, Jhessian Balmgiver, Aerie Mystics, Conflux, Island

My pick:
Paragon of the Amesha

I need some lower drops for my deck and Paragon of the Amesha does the trick. Nacatl Savage is just worse than the Paragon.

Pack 2 pick 3:
Fiery Fall, Wretched Banquet, Parasitic Strix, Aven Trailblazer, Tukatongue Thallid, Asha’s Favor, Rupture Spire, Vectis Agents, Molten Frame, Hellspark Elemental, Viashino Slaughtermaster, Gwafa Hazid, Profiteer, Forest

My pick:
Fiery Fall

Very nice, no real contest on what to pick here.

Pack 2 pick 4:
Sylvan Bounty, Aven Squire, Pestilent Kathari, Might of Alara, Salvage Slasher, Brackwater Elemental, Exploding Borders, Maniacal Rage, Paragon of the Amesha, Controlled Instincts, Scornful Æther-Lich, Swamp

My pick:
Sylvan Bounty

I need manafixing so Sylvan Bounty fits the bill. In this pretty slow deck that it seems like we will end up withm, gaining 8 life is not irrelevant either. At this point I couldn’t make a good case for the other cards in the pack, so it was an easy pick for me.

Pack 2 pick 5:
Unsummon, Kranioceros, Absorb Vis, Valeron Outlander, Rotting Rats, Goblin Outlander, Court Homunculus, Wild Leotau (FOIL), Voices from the Void, View from Above, Swamp

My pick:
Wild Leotau (FOIL)

Pack 2 pick 6:
Ember Weaver, Toxic Iguanar, Bone Saw, Rhox Bodyguard, Scattershot Archer, Infectious Horror, Worldly Counsel, Corrupted Roots, Skyward Eye Prophets, Swamp

My pick:
Ember Weaver

I really like Ember Weaver. It’s cheap, it blocks fliers and with borderposts is not hard to getting it to 3/3 first striker with reach. Just what the doctor orders for this deck or green decks in general in my opinion.

Pack 2 pick 7:
Wretched Banquet, Sylvan Bounty, Canyon Minotaur, Rhox Meditant, Lapse of Certainty, Scattershot Archer, Yoke of the Damned, Jhessian Balmgiver, Island

My pick:
Rhox Meditant

Pack 2 pick 8:
Sylvan Bounty, Canyon Minotaur, Lapse of Certainty, Scattershot Archer, Yoke of the Damned, View from Above, Unstable Frontier, Swamp

My pick:
Sylvan Bounty

Pack 2 pick 9:
Zombie Outlander, Wandering Goblins, Suicidal Charge, Maniacal Rage, Countersquall, Elder Mastery, Plains

My pick:
Zombie Outlander

Pack 2 pick 10:
Kaleidostone, Wandering Goblins, Suicidal Charge, Maniacal Rage, Jhessian Balmgiver, Island

My pick:
Kaleidostone

Pack 2 pick 11:
Tukatongue Thallid, Asha’s Favor, Vectis Agents, Molten Frame, Forest

My pick:
Molten Frame

Pack 2 pick 12:
Salvage Slasher, Maniacal Rage, Paragon of the Amesha, Swamp

My pick:
Paragon of the Amesha

The Paragon actually wheeled! I will play it for sure. With the Kaleidostone I took a couple of picks ago I might be able to trigger the ability once too.

Pack 2 pick 13:
Rotting Rats, Voices from the Void, Swamp

My pick:
Voices from the Void

Pack 2 pick 14:
Worldly Counsel, Swamp

My pick:
Swamp

Pack 2 pick 15:
Island

My pick:
Island

Pack 3 pick 1:
Pale Recluse, Soul Manipulation, Stormcaller’s Boon, Veinfire Borderpost, Sangrite Backlash, Gorger Wurm, Kathari Bomber, Vedalken Ghoul, Violent Outburst, Naya Hushblade, Lorescale Coatl, Tainted Sigil, Anathemancer, Aven Mimeomancer, Island

My pick:
Sangrite Backlash

I’m in kinda need of removal, so Sangrite Backlash fits the bill. Pale Recluse is nice, but I want cheap removal more than manafixing/ 4/5 reach for 6.

Pack 3 pick 2:
Pale Recluse, Soul Manipulation, Stormcaller’s Boon, Veinfire Borderpost, Sangrite Backlash, Gorger Wurm, Kathari Bomber, Vedalken Ghoul, Violent Outburst, Igneous Pouncer (FOIL), Bituminous Blast, Unbender Tine, Dragon Appeasement, Mountain

My pick:
Sangrite Backlash

Gosh, Bituminous Blast… Anyhow, I took Sangrite Backlash with the same reasons as my last pick.

Pack 3 pick 3:
Glassdust Hulk, Leonin Armorguard, Cerodon Yearling, Esper Sojourners, Grizzled Leotau, Brainbite, Grixis Sojourners, Valley Rannet, Enlisted Wurm, Marrow Chomper, Mage Slayer, Wargate, Island

My pick:
Enlisted Wurm

Slammed.

Pack 3 pick 4:
Leonin Armorguard, Architects of Will, Fieldmist Borderpost, Mistvein Borderpost, Vectis Dominator, Firewild Borderpost, Jund Sojourners, Captured Sunlight, Breath of Malfegor, Shield of the Righteous, Sigil Captain, Swamp

My pick:
Firewild Borderpost

I took a borderpost here. I’m not in desperate need of manafixing but I don’t see Leonin Armorguard making the final cut for my deck. So I rather boost my manabase.

Pack 3 pick 5:
Deny Reality, Rhox Brute, Sewn-Eye Drake, Firewild Borderpost, Naya Hushblade, Sigil of the Nayan Gods, Kathari Bomber, Vectis Dominator, Double Negative, Unscythe, Killer of Kings, Island

My pick:
Naya Hushblade

I wanted to pick the Rhox Brute, but my deck is looking really slow at this point. So I went for a road bump-bear instead.

Pack 3 pick 6:
Winged Coatl, Colossal Might, Jhessian Zombies, Jund Sojourners, Vedalken Ghoul, Sigiled Behemoth, Violent Outburst, Dragon Appeasement, Illusory Demon, Mountain

My pick:
Colossal Might

Pack 3 pick 7:
Stormcaller’s Boon, Sewn-Eye Drake, Arsenal Thresher, Offering to Asha, Godtracker of Jund, Igneous Pouncer, Shield of the Righteous, Unbender Tine, Forest

My pick:
Sewn-Eye Drake

Godtracker of Jund is playable but not great. Since I’m not desperate for playables I rather took a Swen-Eye Drake which is potentially very good against me.

Pack 3 pick 8:
Pale Recluse, Naya Sojourners, Deadshot Minotaur, Brainbite, Trace of Abundance, Grizzled Leotau, Valley Rannet, Swamp

My pick:
Deadshot Minotaur

I really like Deadshot Minotour, and my deck will struggle a bit against fliers so Deadshot Minotaur is an easy pick here.

Pack 3 pick 9:
Stormcaller’s Boon, Vedalken Ghoul, Violent Outburst, Lorescale Coatl, Tainted Sigil, Anathemancer, Island

My pick:
Lorescale Coatl

I’m not a fan of Violent Outburst. I just leave it with that.

Pack 3 pick 10:
Vedalken Ghoul, Violent Outburst, Igneous Pouncer (FOIL), Unbender Tine, Dragon Appeasement, Mountain

My pick:
Violent Outburst

Pack 3 pick 11:
Leonin Armorguard, Cerodon Yearling, Grizzled Leotau, Grixis Sojourners, Island

My pick:
Grizzled Leotau

Grizzled Leotau is perfect for my deck. It’s cheap and it stalls so my fattys can take over in the late game.

Pack 3 pick 12:
Leonin Armorguard, Vectis Dominator, Shield of the Righteous, Swamp

My pick:
Leonin Armorguard

Pack 3 pick 13:
Vectis Dominator, Double Negative, Island

My pick:
Double Negative

Pack 3 pick 14:
Vedalken Ghoul, Mountain

My pick:
Vedalken Ghoul

Pack 3 pick 15:
Forest

My pick:
Forest

And here is the 40 that I submitted:

My Draft deck

 

 

 

 

Not too much to talk about the deck. The deck almost built itself. I ended up 2-1, winning the quarters against another Naya deck that had a tad worse cards than I did and then won in the semis versus a mediocre Esper deck. Then I lost in the finals against a lightning fast Bant deck, which I kinda saw coming. My deck was not very fast so when he came out with a bunch of blades and what nod I got rolled over. I won game 1 thanks to a early Grizzled Leotau and Ember Weaver, but then I got crushed in the following 2 games.

That was all I had for this time, hope you enjoyed it and I will catch you later.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

