Skip to content

M10 Prerelease

July 12, 2009

So I played in a prerelease yesterday at my local shop and I fared pretty well, making Top8 out of 69 participants. My pool was pretty good (I thought it was pretty insane at first but once I got to look around I saw people with even better pools) and it ended up with this deck:

1 Elite Vanguard
1 Veteran Armorsmith
2 White Knight
1 Merfolk Looter
1 Sage Owl
1 Illusionary Servant
1 Palace Guard
1 Griffin Sentinel
2 Snapping Drake
2 Serra Angel
1 Air Elemental
1 Platinum Angel
1 Gorgon Flail
1 Essence Scatter
1 Ice Cage
1 Glorious Charge
1 Divination
1 Safe Passage
1 Divine Verdict
1 Fireball
1 Glacial Fortress
8 Plains
6 Island
2 Mountain 

Notable sideboard cards:

1 Cancel
1 Whispersilk Cloak
1 Fabricate
1 Lightning Bolt
1 Solemn Offering

Unfortunately I don’t have the rest of the pool in my hands, but I can give you an idea of what the pool looked like. I first skimmed through the artifacts and white and after that I was almost 100% that I was going to play white. White had depth and bombs, 2 Serra Angel is awesome and White Knight is really good in this limited environment as a majority of the removal in the format is black. Also Gorgon Flail on White Knight is a killer combo. Further on, blue was solid, it had some good drops and nice tricks. Red was pretty much unplayable except for Fireball and Lightning Bolt. Black had some nice cards, Gravedigger, Doomblade, Assassinate but many of the cards had very stiff color requirement to go along with white. Green looked pretty good too, it had a couple of Giant Growths, Howl of the Night pack, Acidic Slime, Borderland Ranger but it lacked depth. So I ended up with blue (also having a Glacial Fortress made that choice easier).

Looking back I wish I had maindecked Whispersilk Cloak. That card was insane for me all day and I kept sideboarding in it for the Elite Vanguard. Cancel was a card that came in a couple of times for Glorious Charge. That was a choice I agonised during deck construction. I ended up with Glorious Charge because of I didn’t like the UU casting cost for my deck and I wanted to minimize the color requirements for the deck. The tournament was 7 rounds and I went 5-1-1. All the deck I beat during the day played black and all but 1 played green as well.  Whispersilk Cloak and Cancel is pretty good against green-black decks I can tell you. Another thing I learned from the tournament yesterday was how good Safe Passage is. Not only is it a fog that can be used on offense, it also works as a quasi-counterspell for a lot of removal spells in the format. I used during the day for countering Tendrils of Corruption, Consume Spirit… you name it. Anyhow, M10 limited seems pretty fun and it you can really tell that R&D put time into making this core set a playable limited format.

The day ended with we splitted the Top8 and we all walked away with a chunk of boosters, so I was satisfied with my prerelease.  So, how was your prerelease?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

