Skip to content

Scapeshiftin’ in mid-season Extended

February 28, 2010

Last saturday a local PTQ finally rolled around in my area which meant it was Extended time. Despite all the hype of DDT (Dark Depth with Thopter Foundry) I stood with my guns and played the deck I had by far the most experience with, Scapeshift.

// Lands
    2 Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle
    4 Steam Vents
    4 Stomping Ground
    2 Flooded Grove
    1 Mountain
    4 Forest 
    4 Island 
    2 Breeding Pool

// Creatures
    2 Coiling Oracle
    4 Wood Elves
    4 Sakura-Tribe Elder

// Spells
    4 Remand
    4 Peer Through Depths
    4 Scapeshift
    4 Search for Tomorrow
    2 Electrolyze
    4 Ponder
    2 Cryptic Command
    3 Into the Roil

// Sideboard
SB: 1 Into the Roil
SB: 2 Boseiju, Who Shelters All
SB: 1 Rude Awakening
SB: 4 Ravenous Trap
SB: 4 Kitchen Finks
SB: 2 Negate
SB: 1 Meloku the Clouded Mirror

Before someone starts to rant “how can you possibly play Scapeshift in this meta?”, let me get that straight. After playing that matchup for a while now I think it’s actually not that bad from the Scapeshift perspective. It kind of boils down to game 1. Game 1 versus DDT is fairly even but after boards you are a clear dog. So, I feel that can you win game 1, you have a decent shot at winning the match but you don’t win a lot of matches if you lose game 1. And then against the rest of field I think you have at least a 50/50 shot in every matchup which is very respectable in a such a broad format as Extended.

I choose to go with the blue version, which I personally like better than the version with Bloodbraid Elf. Both versions got their ups and downs and I just like the blue versions better.

My list hasn’t changed so much during the last month or so, except it used to be 3x Cryptic Command and 2x Into the Roil in the maindeck and in adaption to the popularity of the Brozek Boros deck and DDT I changed around the numbers as you need the cheap bounce to stay alive in the early game…or just be hit by a Marit Lage token.

A matchup I wasn’t completely sure about coming into the PTQ was exactly how the Brozek Boros matchup plays out. I have been comparing it with straight up burn but instead of a couple of bolts they have creatures, which should be better for Scapeshift since you have a lot of chumpers. But they explosivness of that deck should never be underestimated, which I got to learn the hard way at the PTQ. I lost a game on the draw when I had turn 2 Into the Roil on your 7/7 Plated Geopede and then Kitchen Finks…and still lost on turn 4. That was rough.

I lost to Brozek Boros twice (lost the die roll both times, which turned out to be huge) and won over Hypergenesis and Affinity + the good old bye. At 3-2 and with the next to worse tiebreakers in the room it was no point at playing it out. Still I felt that playing Scapeshift was a pretty good call for the local meta game, since there was only 2 players in the room (out of 39) playing DDT. Why that was I don’t really know but I was glad. Also there was 5-6 BW Martyr decks in the field, most likely as a response to all the Brozek Boros decks out there. Would not really mind playing against them too.

I have at least 1 more PTQ this season so there is more chances to qualify for San Juan. If I will be casting Scapeshifts again is yet to determine, but I would love to. Cheers!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 02:37

    Play DDT. It’s by far the best deck.

Leave a Reply

