Skip to content

Photo Essay from GP Brussels 2010

March 30, 2010

GP Brussels 2010 is in the books and I’m back, at least temporary. I don’t really have either time or stamina to write a more in-depth report from my trip to Brussels right now (since I’m heading for Gothenburg and GothCon in two days) but I will give you a short summary and as well show of some pictures I took from down there.
 
I decided to make a small gamble and play White Weenie at the GP. I based my list of Cedric Philips list (18 lands, curve stops at 3). I played around with that deck a lot before I went down there and I felt good playing it and it was my style of deck. I knew the match up versus UW and GWx decks was a bit shaky but I felt I could take that bet. To go 7-2 with no byes requires some flow going your way and playing Jund (which was my backup choice) didn’t seem too good when you expect playing at least 3-4 Jund mirrors in 9 rounds. I mean, with the Jund mirror being so close and all, why do you expect just you to win them?
 
However, I didn’t get there, dropped at 2-3 after loosing once against Jund and twice against a weird BWr concoction (more on that later).
 
The early drop in the main event let me play in the PTQ on Sunday however, which I did much better in. I played an updated list of UGr Scapeshift and took it to 6-1-1 which left me at… 9th after the dust settled. That was a bit rough with missing top8 on tiebreakers but I feelt good with myself after the tournament. I played well for the most part and it was my best tournament score since the limited PTQ at BSK last fall. So it was a good boost of my confidence in myself, which has otherwise been pretty low when it comes to Magic.
A full report from the weekend will be posted some time next week after I get back from GothCon as well as some stuff from that weekend to. Before I leave you to the pictures, I want to give out big kodus to fellow Swede Ludvig Londos at making the top8 of the Grand Prix. Well played!
 

Powered by GoodWidgets.com
2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 10:13

    I especially liked Tim asking “Do you guys think I play slow?” after doing his third(!) tournament ever with three draws in the last two years.

  2. March 30, 2010 10:13

    -ever

Leave a Reply

