Skip to content

LinCon 2010

May 19, 2010

I’m back from an awesome weekend of playing Magic litary nonstop for 4 days. And I did pretty well to! After this weekend I got my ass qualified for Nationals, Top4ed a GPT for Gothenburg which means I will have 3 sweet byes for that event later in August aswell as won a fair amount of cash. So I’m certainly not complaining about my weekend!

Okay, let me start from the beginning. A couple of days before I went down to Linköping I was in the tank about what I wanted to play in Standard, for the National qualifier aswell as the PTQ. I had narrowed it down to Jund but as you know Jund is a quite broad spectrum these days. I couldn’t make up my mind and when last Wednesday came around I still had no idea of what exact 75 I wanted to play, hours before I would leave to Linköping. Eldrazi Monomunent, Rampant Growth, Explore, Sarkhan the Mad… the options seemed endless.

But then I got my hands on Wrapters (Josh Utter-Leyton) sweet Jund deck with Plated Geopede and extra fetches that had taken down a PTQ the previous weekend. I really liked the list, it seems on paper to have the injection to steer up the UWr Planeswalker matchup and other iffy matchups for Jund. I brought the extra cards with me so I could build the list if the limited testing I would get from the site proved it to be good enough.

After a pretty uneventful 2 hour car ride down to Linköping I spent most of the evening of saying hello to friends and playing a bit of Standard. I feel in love pretty fast with the Geopede list, everything except the Planeswalkers in the sideboard seemed to be very well crafted. The following list is what I ended up playing at both the National Qualifier and the PTQ for Amsterdam:

Geo Jund

// Lands
    4 Savage Lands
    4 Raging Ravine
    4 Verdant Catacombs
    3 Forest
    3 Mountain
    3 Swamp
    4 Terramorphic Expanse
    1 Scalding Tarn

// Creatures
    4 Putrid Leech
    4 Sprouting Thrinax
    4 Bloodbraid Elf
    4 Siege-Gang Commander
    2 Borderland Ranger
    4 Plated Geopede

// Spells
    2 Lightning Bolt
    4 Maelstrom Pulse
    4 Blightning
    2 Bituminous Blast

// Sideboard
SB: 2 Lightning Bolt
SB: 3 Doom Blade
SB: 2 Consuming Vapors
SB: 2 Sarkhan the Mad
SB: 1 Island
SB: 4 Sedraxis Specter
SB: 1 Bituminous Blast

I Top8ed the National Qualifier with the above list (out of 85-ish people) and then with the same list I went 4-2-1 at the PTQ. After two tournaments with the list aswell as a fair amount of practice games I can definitely say that the list is good and legit. If it’s THE best Jund list out there… I don’t know. The Plated Geopedes, Borderland Ranger and the extra fetches gives you an edge against Spreading Seas decks but they aren’t very good versus other creature decks, like the mirror, allies or Naya. But it’s fixable with the sideboard no doubt. Still, if these creature decks will be getting more popularity in the future I would drop the Geopede-package for sure.

Then I got there in the Sealed GPT. Not much to say about that tournament, my deck wasn’t fantastic or anything but I got there on some sweet draws and good play.

Other than that I’m not sure there is much more to say about LinCon. It was a sweet Con with a lot of fun people there. Next up for me will be Nationals later in June. That means that there will be a lot of drafting and even more Standard testing going on for the next couple of weeks. Stay tuned for that!

Leave a Reply

