Skip to content

2nd @ Nationals 2010: The report

July 5, 2010

So, it’s finally done. I have finished my report from my second place finish at Nationals this year. That’s the good news. The bad news for my non-swedish speaking fans out there I have chosen to write it in Swedish and publish it on www.svenskamagic.com, the official swedish magic community site. You can find it here. So for you who can read Swedish, please check out my report there.

But those who doesn’t speak Swedish I’m going to do a short summary of the tournament. This was the list I played in Constructed:

The Iron Clad

// Lands
3 Forest
3 Mountain
3 Swamp
3 Dragonskull Summit
4 Savage Lands
4 Verdant Catacombs
4 Raging Ravine
2 Evolving Wilds

// Creatures
4 Bloodbraid Elf
4 Putrid Leech
4 Sprouting Thrinax
4 Siege-Gang Commander
2 Borderland Ranger

// Spells
4 Lightning Bolt
4 Blightning
4 Maelstrom Pulse
2 Bituminous Blast
2 Sarkhan the Mad

// Sideboard
SB: 2 Prophetic Prism
SB: 4 Goblin Ruinblaster
SB: 2 Forked Bolt
SB: 1 Thought Hemmoraghe
SB: 2 Doom Blade
SB: 4 Duress

A pretty straight forward list. I took the elements I liked from the list I played at LinCon and tried to opt the list for the expected field. I missed a little thought as the number of Spreading Seas fueled control decks had dropped a bit since a couple of weeks ago. So if I would play in a tournament tomorrow I would cut the 2 Evolving Wilds for some combination of Rootbound Crag, Dragonskull Summit and/or Lavaclaw Reaches. For the sideboard I’m not really sure. It might be possible that cutting the Prophetic Prism is the right call at the moment. It depends little on your local meta.

So for the actual tournament. I started off by winning against RDW 2-1, then lost 1-2 against Mythic and the won against UW Tapout 2-0, starting off Nationals at 2-1. Then I 3-0 both drafts, the first draft drafting RB Tokens with hits such as Eldrazi Conscription and then in the second draft I drafted GB Tokens topped off with double Gigantomancer.

Then on day 2 I lost my first two rounds of Standard, first against Mythic 0-2 and then lost the mirror 0-2. Then I finally got my pieces together and won against Naya Allies 2-0 so I ended the swiss at 9-3. My tiebreakers were phenomenal so that record was good enough for me to get to 5th place.

In the Top8 I played against Grixis Burn in the quarters, which I won 3-2. Then I faced off against Vengevine Naya in the semis which I took down 3-2. Then I lost in the finals versus the mirror (same opponent as in round 11) 0-3. A little sour to make it that far and then losing at the finish line. But hey, I’m still on the National Team and I’m going to Japan. So that is completely crazy and awesome. Can’t wait for Worlds.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

