Skip to content

M11 Sealed pool exercise, part 1

August 3, 2010

Hello everyone. This past weekend I played in a GPT for the upcoming Grand Prix Gothenburg (28-29 August) that I’m planning to rock out at. As you might remember if you are a long time reader, I already have three byes from a GPT I Top4ed at LinCon earlier this year. So I wasn’t really playing for prices but I wanted the practice. And hey, playing Magic with good friends is never wrong right?

As any given sealed tournaments goes it seems, I opened a sweet pool that for once had Mystifing Maze, Brittle Effigy and Primeval Titan as standout rares, but off course there was deck swapping and the pool I got was…quite intresting. So what I’m going to do is I’m giving you the pool I had today. I will let you think about the pool and then I would love to hear some thoughts and/or deck list in the comments section. I will be back later this week with my thoughts about the sealed pool, how I built it at the GPT, what I think I did wrong and so on. So wrap your minds around this sucker and I will be in touch!

Lands:
1x Dragonskull Summit
1x Glacial Fortress

Artifacts:
1x Elixir of Immortality
1x Dragon’s Claw
1x Crystal Ball
1x Juggernaught

White:
2x Ajani’s Mantra
1x Squadron Hawk
1x Tireless Missionaries
1x Safe Passage
1x Mighty Leap
1x Excommunicate
1x Condemn
1x Siege Mastodon
1x Serra Angel
1x Cloud Crusader
1x Silvercoat Lion
1x Wild Griffin
2x Palace Guard

Blue:
2x Cancel
1x Jace Beleren
1x Harbor Serpent
1x Azure Drake
1x Scroll Thief
1x Maritime Guard
1x Ice Cage
1x Jace’s Ingenuity
1x Jace’s Erasure
1x Call to Mind
1x Diminish
1x Unsummon
1x Negate
1x Preordain

Black:
2x Assassinate
2x Blood Tithe
1x Bog Raiders
1x Duress
2x Doom Blade
2x Gravedigger
1x Haunting Echoes
2x Nether Horror
1x Nightwing Shade
1x Necrotic Plague
1x Rise from the Grave
1x Reassembling Skeleton
1x Stabbing Pain
1x Quag Sickness

Red:
1x Act of Treason
1x Chandra’s Spitefire
1x Chandra’s Outrage
1x Ember Hauler
1x Earth Servant
1x Fireball
1x Fire Servant
1x Fiery Hellhound
1x Fling
1x Goblin Ballon Brigade
1x Incite
1x Lightning Bolt
2x Thunder Strike
1x Pyretic Ritual

Green:
1x Dryad’s Favor
1x Duskdale Wurm
1x Garruk’s Packleader
1x Giant Growth
2x Hornets Sting
1x Hunter’s Feast
2x Llanowar Elves
1x Mitotic Slime
1x Naturalize
1x Prized Unicorn
2x Yavimaya Wurm

(I apologize for the lack of alphabetic ordering :P)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. atogman permalink
    August 5, 2010 14:04

    After considering UB for a long while, I chose to go GB because UB just didn’t have any quality creatures:

    Reassembling Skeleton

    Prized Unicorn
    Juggernaut
    Nether Horror
    Nether Horror
    Gravedigger
    Gravedigger

    Garruk’s Packleader
    Mitotic Slime
    Nightwing Shade

    Yavimaya Wurm
    Yavimaya Wurm

    Duskdale Wurm

    Assassinate
    Assassinate
    Doom Blade
    Doom Blade
    Quag Sickness
    Rise from the Grave
    Duress
    Fireball
    Lightning Bolt

    Dragonskull Summit
    1 Mountain
    7 Forests
    9 Swamps

    This deck destroys early creatures with its 7 removal spells and wins with huge Wurms. I’ve included the second Nether Horror over one Llanowar Elf because of Garruk’s Packleader. If you can keep him in play and the game goes long, almost every creature you play cantrips.

    As I said earlier, I was thinking about blue. Call to Mind is insane with Jace’s Ingenuity, Rise from the Grave and all the removal spells, and Planeswalker Jace is obviously very good. The only problem is, a UB deck can’t ever win because almost every creature sucks.

    • Nicolas Gonzalez permalink
      August 25, 2010 19:54

      Hi Bernhard! I’ve been a follower of your blog for a while, and just wanted to have a chance to meet players from other countries, as I got lucky enough to win a PTQ for Amsterdam (I’m from Chile, South America), and I’ll be seizing that chance to judge in the GP Gothenburg. I’ll be there starting from tomorrow, so just send me a mail and let me know if you want to meet up! I was actually planning to go and check the stores in the city, but as you can imagine, I don’t know at all how to move around there, so I would also really appreciate if you could help me a bit with that. Well, have to go now, still stuck at Schiphol, the best of luck for you at the GP!

  2. triss permalink
    August 5, 2010 20:40

    Hade troligen byggt B/G med röd splash. Leken har bra removal, stora gubbar och lite kortövertag att vinna på. Leken saknar bombasraret, men tror att den skulle kunna vinna ett par matcher iaf.

  3. balthazar88 permalink*
    August 7, 2010 12:40

    Thanks for the interesting comments! The conclusion will be up soon!

Trackbacks

  1. M11 Sealed pool exercise, part 2 « The Exploration

Leave a Reply

