Skip to content

Drafting with me #7 – SSS

November 28, 2010

Hi ho, finally a draft walk-through I had promised to make. No further delays, let’s just dig into it! It’s from a 4-3-2-2 que on MTGO.


Pack 1 pick 1:
Copper Myr
Shatter
Painsmith
Tel-Jilad Defiance
Blistergrub
Psychic Miasma
Slice in Twain
Withstand Death
Neurok Replica
Razorfield Thresher
Tumble Magnet
Scoria Elemental
Forest
Asceticism
–> Skinrender

Interesting pack but it’s pretty clear that we are going to rend some skin here. Asceticism is really powerful but is a bit embarrassing when you play against Infect-decks, since the regeneration ability just doesn’t do anything. Meanwhile Skinrender is always going to be nutty as well I rather start of the draft with a black card than green card.

Pack 1 pick 2:
Copper Myr
Kemba’s Skyguard
–> Instill Infection
Corrupted Harvester
Soliton
Vigil for the Lost
Auriok Sunchaser
Flameborn Hellion
Moriok Replica
Grafted Exoskeleton
Auriok Replica
Mountain
Myr Reservoir
Scrapdiver Serpent

Kemba’s Skyguard is probably the card in this pack I like the most overall, but I like to stay away from white if I can when I’m looking like I’m playing black. Instill Infection is a perfectly fine excuse for that. Grafted Exoskeleton is pretty powerful to, but at this point I rather try to set myself steady in black so I can play my Skinrender in the end.

Pack 1 pick 3:
Contagious Nim
Untamed Might (FOIL)
Trigon of Rage
Tel-Jilad Defiance
Necrogen Scudder
Psychic Miasma
Withstand Death
Neurok Replica
Trinket Mage
Razorfield Thresher
–> Tumble Magnet
Scoria Elemental
Swamp

This was an interesting pack for my part. 3 cards in this pack stand out from my point of view; Tumble Magnet, Necrogen Scudder and Contagious Nim. The Nim is the first Infect card (beside Grafted Exoskeleton I guess, but that card can go into any deck really) so going the Infect route is still a possibility. Necrogen Scudder is pretty insane in an aggressive black deck and I think is a little better than Tumble Magnet in that kind of deck. But I’m not sure how my end product will look right at this point so I went with the more all around pick in Tumble Magnet here.

Pack 1 pick 4:
Plated Seastrider
Copper Myr
Revoke Existence
Ghalma’s Warden
Ferrovore
–> Razor Hippogriff
Gold Myr
Soliton
Sylvok Lifestaff
Barbed Battlegear
Molder Beast
Mountain

Oh, well. Here we are despite my earlier effort. Razor Hippogriff is the pick here because it’s just so much better than everything else in the pack. I’m kinda boggled by what people have already taken from this pack. There is a rare, an uncommon and a common missing or might be 1 foil, 1 rare and an uncommon. I’m thinking the later since (in my world at least) there isn’t a common in this format that during the first 3 picks of a draft that I would take over Razor Hippogriff.

Pack 1 pick 5:
Vector Asp
Kuldotha Rebirth
Vault Skyward
Vedalken Certarch
–> Flesh Allergy
Trinket Mage
Glimmerpost
Molder Beast
Soul Parry
Island
Venser’s Journal

Kinda lame pack, Flesh Allergy is the pick here since it’s on color.

Pack 1 pick 6:
Vector Asp
Ezuri’s Archers
Trigon of Infestation
Vault Skyward
–> Moriok Reaver
Relic Putrescence
Panic Spellbomb
Soul Parry
Saberclaw Golem
Island

I like Moriok Reaver in this format since it is one of the few creatures in the common slot that cost 3 or less that trades with Cystbearer.

Pack 1 pick 7:
Ezuri’s Archers
Assault Strobe
Blight Mamba
Steady Progress
Auriok Replica
–> Nihil Spellbomb
Flight Spellbomb
Soul Parry
Plains

I’m a little peculiar about that Blight Mamba but with the Razor Hippogriff in our pile I think that ship has sailed. Spellbomb up!

Pack 1 pick 8:
Plated Seastrider
Ghalma’s Warden
Ferrovore
–> Throne of Geth
Salvage Scout
Tainted Strike
Razorfield Thresher
Mountain

The reason why I took Throne of Geth here was that I wanted to leave the opportunity to still go the Infect route, but I don’t like that call in retrospect. I think Ghalma’s Warden would have been a better pick.

Pack 1 pick 9:
–> Tel-Jilad Defiance
Blistergrub
Psychic Miasma
Withstand Death
Razorfield Thresher
Scoria Elemental
Forest

As the last pick, I took Tel-Jilad Defiance over Blistergrub here since Infect was still an option (at least in my mind at the time) and Tel-Jilad Defiance is a much better card in that situation. Blistergrub isn’t something I want to be playing main deck anyways.

Pack 1 pick 10:
–> Corrupted Harvester
Soliton
Vigil for the Lost
Flameborn Hellion
Mountain
Scrapdiver Serpent
Pack 1 pick 11:
Psychic Miasma
Withstand Death
–> Trinket Mage
Razorfield Thresher
Swamp
Pack 1 pick 12:
–> Plated Seastrider
Ferrovore
Soliton
Mountain

Pack 1 pick 13:
–> Vector Asp
Vault Skyward
Island

Pack 1 pick 14:
Vault Skyward
–> Relic Putrescence

Pack 1 pick 15:
–> Plains

—— SOM ——

Pack 2 pick 1:
Plated Seastrider
Rusted Relic
Iron Myr
Ferrovore
Gold Myr
Blunt the Assault
Tunnel Ignus
Slice in Twain
–> Volition Reins
Snapsail Glider
Relic Putrescence
Flight Spellbomb
Stoic Rebuttal
Mountain
Fulgent Distraction

Seems like we have a new plan, boys! Like the Hippogriff pick, in my world Volition Reins is just much better than the rest of the pack for us. That we got that late Trinket Mage in the previous pack also helps, otherwise Slice in Twain might have been a contender.

Pack 2 pick 2:
Copper Myr
Wing Puncture
Melt Terrain
Halt Order
Dross Hopper
Furnace Celebration
Tel-Jilad Defiance
–> Darksteel Sentinel (FOIL)
Loxodon Wayfarer
Galvanic Blast
Grafted Exoskeleton
Stoic Rebuttal
Island
Scrapdiver Serpent

What a crapshot… and this is the part of the format that I do like. This pack is just packed with plenty of options. Do we need a mana accelerator (in the form of a Myr) here? A late drop? A good equipment? Removal? A counterspell? I didn’t really know so I went with the most powerful card, the Sentinel. In retrospect taking the Myr would probably have been better thought… (coming to that in a jiffy!)

Pack 2 pick 3:
Neurok Invisimancer
Ichor Rats
Oxidda Scrapmelter
Corpse Cur
Blistergrub
Salvage Scout
Whitesun’s Passage
Bladed Pinions
Bleak Coven Vampires
–> Moriok Replica
Accorder’s Shield
Scoria Elemental
Mountain

I feel a little bad not taking the Oxiddia Scrapmelter, but our deck looks like it needs UUU and BB to play all its spells so I don’t think we can splash it. And it probably won’t be so bad to play against since our deck don’t look particularly Metalcraft-y at the moment. For that matter I’m a little more worried about that Corpse Cur and Ichor Rats in this pack…

Pack 2 pick 4:
Necrogen Censer
Ichorclaw Myr
Copperhorn Scout
Dross Hopper
Vigil for the Lost
Sunspear Shikari
Clone Shell
–> Chimeric Mass
Nihil Spellbomb
Plains
Island (FOIL)
Fulgent Distraction

Oh, hello there! Trinket Mage best buddy, down in the pile you go!

Pack 2 pick 5:
Neurok Invisimancer (FOIL)
Blight Mamba
Blade-Tribe Berserkers
Iron Myr
Oxidda Daredevil
Whitesun’s Passage
Twisted Image
Auriok Replica
Screeching Silcaw
–> Tumble Magnet
Swamp

Once again the debate between a Myr or action. Here I think taking the action card (Tumble Magnet) was a good call.

Pack 2 pick 6:
Ezuri’s Archers
Abuna Acolyte
–> Bonds of Quicksilver
Throne of Geth
Sunspear Shikari
Relic Putrescence
Panic Spellbomb
Exsanguinate
Soul Parry
Forest

A weak pack. Taking the card that is most likely that I will end up playing (god forbid).

Pack 2 pick 7:
Oxidda Daredevil
Tel-Jilad Defiance
Blistergrub
Salvage Scout
Withstand Death
–> Neurok Replica
Screeching Silcaw
Golden Urn
Island

Pack 2 pick 8:
Oxidda Daredevil
Viridian Revel
Ferrovore
–> Blistergrub
Withstand Death
Screeching Silcaw
Trigon of Mending
Swamp

Pack 2 pick 9:
Plated Seastrider
Ferrovore
Blunt the Assault
Relic Putrescence
–> Flight Spellbomb
Stoic Rebuttal
Mountain

A judgement call between the Spellbomb and the Stoic Rebuttal. Having Trinket Mage in our pile of card is what made the difference for me here.

Pack 2 pick 10:
Wing Puncture
Halt Order
Dross Hopper
Tel-Jilad Defiance
Island
–> Scrapdiver Serpent

Big fatty in the house!

Pack 2 pick 11:
–> Neurok Invisimancer
Salvage Scout
Whitesun’s Passage
Scoria Elemental
Mountain

Pack 2 pick 12:
Copperhorn Scout
–> Vigil for the Lost
Plains
Island (FOIL)

Pack 2 pick 13:
Whitesun’s Passage
–> Twisted Image
Swamp

Pack 2 pick 14:
–> Relic Putrescence
Forest

Pack 2 pick 15:
–> Island

—— SOM ——

Pack 3 pick 1:
Necropede
–> Perilous Myr
Plated Seastrider
Memnite
Ghalma’s Warden
Grindclock (FOIL)
Moriok Reaver
Barrage Ogre
Vulshok Heartstoker
Cystbearer
Arrest
Darkslick Shores
Origin Spellbomb
Forest
Scrapdiver Serpent

Being black-blue and not really being able to splash anything is what’s making the Perilous Myr the clear pick here. I was hoping for that Grindclock to wheel though. The deck looked like to be fairly controlling and slow so Grindclock might be a legit finisher for my deck.

Pack 3 pick 2:
Rusted Relic
Goblin Gaveleer
Tangle Angler
Blunt the Assault
Strider Harness
–> Volition Reins
Snapsail Glider
Moriok Replica
Relic Putrescence
Flight Spellbomb
Stoic Rebuttal
Forest
Leonin Arbiter
Scrapdiver Serpent

Slam.

Pack 3 pick 3:
–> Grasp of Darkness
Bloodshot Trainee
Turn Aside
Bonds of Quicksilver
Wall of Tanglecord
Whitesun’s Passage
Golem Artisan
Sunspear Shikari
Vulshok Replica
Accorder’s Shield
Palladium Myr
Saberclaw Golem
Plains

Here I was debating Grasp of Darkness versus Golem Artisan. I this was earlier in the draft I think Golem Artisan would have made my pile of cards, but I already have plenty of powerful stuff to do at 5+ mana so taking the removal spell looked better to me.

Pack 3 pick 4:
Halt Order
Oxidda Daredevil
Vulshok Heartstoker
–> Wall of Tanglecord
Psychic Miasma
Whitesun’s Passage
Vedalken Certarch
Darksteel Myr
Screeching Silcaw
Tumble Magnet
Molten Psyche
Swamp

Wall of Tanglecord got the nod over Tumble Magnet here since my deck desperately needed two-drops at this point.

Pack 3 pick 5:
Contagious Nim
Untamed Might
Shape Anew
Tel-Jilad Defiance
Psychic Miasma
Bladed Pinions
–> Moriok Replica
Screeching Silcaw
Razorfield Thresher
Scoria Elemental
Mountain

Pack 3 pick 6:
Assault Strobe
Contagious Nim
Vault Skyward
Blackcleave Goblin
Barbed Battlegear
Echo Circlet
–> Rust Tick
Soul Parry
Swamp
Scrapdiver Serpent

Pack 3 pick 7:
Shatter
Bloodshot Trainee
Bonds of Quicksilver
Soliton
–> Sylvok Lifestaff
Sunspear Shikari
Razorverge Thicket
Relic Putrescence (FOIL)
Plains

Taking the Trinket Mage-able equipment here. Without Heavy Arbalest I don’t see myself playing Solition in my deck at this point. And 7 picks into the draft I don’t think I will see an Heavy Arbalest, so don’t think it’s worth speculatively draft here.

Pack 3 pick 8:
Wing Puncture
–> Sky-Eel School
Assault Strobe
Ichor Rats
Trigon of Infestation
Relic Putrescence
Plains
Ogre Geargrabber
Pack 3 pick 9:
Plated Seastrider
Ghalma’s Warden
Moriok Reaver
Vulshok Heartstoker
–> Darkslick Shores
Forest
Scrapdiver Serpent

A little rare pick (which I intended to play off course). In a IRL draft I think I would snapped up another two drop here in form of Plated Seastrider.

Pack 3 pick 10:
Goblin Gaveleer
Blunt the Assault
Relic Putrescence
Flight Spellbomb
Forest
–> Scrapdiver Serpent

I don’t think I will play more than 2 Spellbombs, but I might need a another finisher. At least for the sideboard.

Pack 3 pick 11:
Bloodshot Trainee
–> Bonds of Quicksilver
Whitesun’s Passage
Saberclaw Golem
Plains

Pack 3 pick 12:
–> Oxidda Daredevil
Psychic Miasma
Whitesun’s Passage
Swamp

Pack 3 pick 13:
Psychic Miasma
–> Screeching Silcaw
Mountain

Pack 3 pick 14:
–> Vault Skyward
Swamp

Pack 3 pick 15:
–> Relic Putrescence (FOIL)

Which lead to the following deck:

8 Island
8 Swamp
1 Darkslick Shores
1 Wall of Tanglecord
1 Perilous Myr
1 Plated Seastrider
2 Moriok Replica
1 Neurok Replica
1 Rust Tick
1 Moriok Reaver
1 Trinket Mage
1 Skinrender
1 Sky-Eel School
1 Darksteel Sentinel
1 Scrapdriver Serpent
1 Flight Spellbomb
1 Nihil Spellbomb
1 Sylvok Lifestaff
1 Grasp of Darkness
2 Tumble Magnet
1 Instill Infection
2 Volition Reins
1 Chimeric Mass

With no available Myr in my pool of cards, running 17 lands was a must. The only real debate I had in deck building was Moriok Reaver or Neurok Invisimancer. I’m paranoid when it comes in facing Infect, particularly Cystbearers so that’s why I gave the nod to Moriok Reaver for the main deck. I did switch things around though when I wasn’t facing Infect. I feel a little bad for not snapping up a single Myr during the draft, but I think the deck ended up fairly well regardless.

My toughest match was easily the quarters, where I was faced a good RW Metalcraft deck. The games were a little bizarre though. In game 1 I was on the draw and went down to 5 cards and kept a 1 lander with Perilous Myr and 2 Replicas. I went on and missed 2 land drops but meanwhile I was struggling my opponent had kept a hand with only Mountain which held him back as well. In the end I drew out of first and won that game, a game I thought I lost on turn 3. Next game the favour was return as my opponent, once again on the play, mulled down to 6 and kept a 2 lands and missed 2 land drops. Meanwhile I had a solid grip and curved nicely but ended up flooding severely. Despite double Volition Reins from my part he had enough gas to come back and seal the deal. Then the last game was a real nail biter. I kept a two lander on the play that had a Perilous Myr, a couple of Replicas and a Skinrender. I went straight to 4 lands and curved out nicely on turn 2, 3 and 4 but then lands stopped showing up. In fact, I never saw a 5th land for the rest of the game despite me cycling 2 Spellbombs and played a Trinket Mage to thin. The game slowly slipped out of my hands, the only thing that I had going was my Neurok Invisimancer kept peeking away while I stalled his team. On the turn before I would die I ripped a Grasp of Darkness that put me on top. Phew!

The semifinal was less exciting versus a RGB good stuff deck. Game 1 curved out and he scooped when his Golem Artisan was the target of a Volition Reins. I then lost game 2 due to double Blistergrub from his side along with a Venser’s Journal(!) that kept me from racing him. Then game 3 was just like game number 1. I went guy, guy, guy and then Volition Reins on your Golem Artisan. He played a couple of spells after that but nothing he did after that mattered in the end.

In the finals I faced good-looking Infect deck. Game 1 I was due to some missed land drops falling behind and when I finally stabilized the board he got down Contagion Clasp which looked like it would finish me off. He also had Sylvok Replica on the board so even 1 Volition Reins wouldn’t make the trick. But I managed to “convince” him to use his Replica on my Sylvok Lifestaff that I attached to my Scrapdriver Serpent in an effort to race. And like a champ I top decked Volition Reins on my last possible turn and managed to seal the deal. Also want to mention that operation Moriok Reaver was a success! Cystbearer down! Game 2 ended up not that exciting. His draw was fairly weak and my Scrapdriver Serpent went the distance.

So there was a draft for you, hope you enjoyed it. Thoughts about the draft and what nod are appreciated!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

