Skip to content

Drafting with me #8 – MSS

February 25, 2011

Hello everybody, I’m back with another draft! I kinda got excited with Mirrodin Besieged hitting MODO for real this week as well as I found a way better way to show off my draft (kudos to www.raredraft.com for that!). Without further ado, click the link below to fire up the draft viewer:

Watch the draft here!

The deck ended up looking like this:

10 Plains
7 Swamp
1 Sphere of the Suns
1 Kemba’s Skyguard
1 Hero of Bladehold
1 Origin Spellbomb
1 Perilous Myr
1 Divine Offering
1 Glint Hawk Idol
1 Vulshok Replica
1 Horizon Spellbomb
1 Leaden Myr
1 Snapsail Glider
1 Gore Vassal
1 Fume Spitter
1 Iron Myr
1 Bladed Sentinel
1 Kuldotha Forgemaster
1 True Conviction
2 Razor Hippogriff
1 Auriok Replica
1 Spread the Sickness
1 Geth, Lord of the Vault
1 Grasp of Darkness

Deck building was pretty straight forward. The card choice I tanked about the most was playing either Vulshok Replica or Myr Sire as my 23rd card. Vulshok Replica won the fight due to my constant fear of Infect and Myr Sire didn’t really have much interaction with my deck. It’s nice to sacrifice to Kuldotha Forgemaster but that’s it.

I did end up 3-0 this draft with my awkward but indeed powerful deck. I squeeked out a really close match in the quarters against a very good GB Infect deck. I won game 1 after he took a mulligan and I got blown out on the draw in the second. In the final game we ended up with a ground stall but Geth showed up on my side and decked him eventually.

The semifinals ended up being more close than it should have been. I lost game 1 after he used Untamed Might on his Engulfing Slagwurm, making it a 14/14 when I was at 10 and had Grasp of Darkness in hand. Frown. To be fair, I could have played that game a little differently by keeping around my Fume Spitter instead of killing an relatively irrelevant Psychosis Crawler. If my Fume Spitter would have still been around I could have killed my blocking Iron Myr with it in order to deny my opponent the lifegaining, which was crucial in the situation. So, I punted. He got rolled in the second when I played Hero of Bladehold on turn 3 on the play and then in the final game Hero of Bladehold with the finish touch of True Conviction got there.

Game 1 of the finals was close has his UB Infect deck got me to 9 poision counters and I was at 9 for a long while (and he had already showed me that he playing with cards like Thorne of Geth and Steady Progress) but True Conviction showed up on time and I could kill him before he ripped his way out of it. Game 2 wasn’t particulary close after I successfully read him on being short on black mana, so I killed his Leaden Myr on turn 2 with Divine Offering and due to his stall on black mana, he was to far behind when the black finally showed up for him. I normally don’t kill mana myrs, as it most of the time the temporary stumble rarely pays off in my experience. I thought it was okay in that particular game though because 1) I was quite sure that the myr was his only source of black mana and b) I didn’t have any other play on turn 2 regardless. My hand was a bit on the slow side and I didn’t want to end up too far behind.

So there you go, a MBS/SOM/SOM draft for you. I really like how raredraft.com’s draft viewer works and looks so I’m certainly encouraged to do some more drafts than I normally do. Until next time, happy drafting!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

