Skip to content

Acknowledgement

November 17, 2011

Last week I expressed my concerns about the recent changes to organized play announced by Wizards. The initial hefty reaction from the playerbase has faltered a bit and thus giving Wizards the opportunity to respond to the overall criticism of the changes. Down below is a couple of note worthy responses from the company:

And the major response came from a man we rarely hear from directly, Greg Leeds, the President of Wizards of the Coast.

Now, nothing concrete to fix things or what nod have been said so far but I think these responses are important nevertheless. The thing that bugged me the most about the whole situation was the way Wizards opted to communicate these very impacting changes to the playerbase. It was just very bluntly and inconclusively done.

The response we have received so far says at least to me that 1) Wizards acknowledge that they need to be more straightforward and conclusive when they address the playerbase in the future and 2) they are willing to have a dialog with the playerbase and receive feedback.

Both statements are reassuring to hear and are important for the future development of this matter. At the very least we know that are concerns are being heard and considered.

While I do still feel somewhat concerned about these changes to organized play and what effect they might have for Magic in the long run, I do feel a bit more hopeful about the whole situation compared to with how I felt when I wrote my last entry on the blog. I guess we will just need to have a little faith and continue to wait and see.

Until next time…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 16:19

    I agree completely with what you said. Wonderful Stuff. Maintain it going..

  2. Solai Luke permalink
    December 2, 2011 00:16

    It is a interesting publish! Thanks for this! With best regards Luke aka couchgool.

Leave a Reply

